On 23 April, 2017, in a conversation with journalists at the Krasnoyarsk Economic Forum, Ilya Trunin, Deputy Finance Minister of the Russian Federation, mentioned that personal incomes from bank deposits could be taxed. That caused a stormy public reaction.


Despite the fact that the ministry later assured citizens through its social network accounts on Facebook and Twitter that taxing individual deposits was not expected in the near future, experts agree that such changes can not be ruled out in the medium term.

The idea of taxing individual deposits is not original, and studying the models of the similar tax in other countries could be used when it is introduced in the Russian Federation.

United Kingdom
Many nationals of the United Kingdom who have bank deposits are exempt from the obligation to pay the tax on the related income. They can use:
• personal allowance – for most UK nationals, the first 11,500 GBP of income are not taxed, regardless of the source of income;
• starting rate for savings – if the “other” income of the taxpayer is less than 16,500 GBP, the taxpayer may receive an additional privilege in the form of not taxing the income from deposits of up to 5,000 GBP. In this case, every pound of “other” income reduces this discount by one pound;
• personal savings allowance – depending on the taxpayer’s income, it can exempt the taxpayer from up to 1,000 GBP of the tax on the income from deposits.

The deposits themselves are not taxed.

Cyprus
In Cyprus, the introduction of the tax on deposits was actively discussed in 2013. The introduction of such tax – 6.75% for deposits ranging from 20 to 100 thousand euros and 9.9% for deposits of more than 100 thousand euros – was a prerequisite for granting Cyprus financial assistance in the amount of 10 billion euros from the Eurogroup. Nevertheless, when the bill was considered in the Parliament, no parliamentarian voted for it, and the tax was eventually not introduced. The main reason for it was the shock reaction of the population who began to urgently withdraw money from their deposits.

Spain
In Spain, introducing the tax on deposits was discussed in 2014, soon after the similar discussion in Cyprus. The Spanish government promised that the tax rate would be slightly different from 0% and that the tax would be oriented on those regions of Spain where there are significant problems with tax collection.

As for savings income, the first 6 thousand euros are taxed at the rate of 19%; if the savings income is 9 to 50 thousand euros, the tax rate would be 21%; if the income is more than 50 thousand euros, it would be 23%.

There are a lot of options for taxing deposits and income from deposits, and in case a similar tax is introduced in Russia, a thorough study of the best world practices, as well as factors influencing the choice of this or that taxation model in a certain country, is necessary.

Natalia Pushkareva – Researcher at the Tax System Development Department

23 апреля 2017 г. Илья Трунин, заместитель министра финансов РФ, в разговоре с журналистами на Красноярском экономическом форуме упомянул, что доходы с депозитов граждан в банках могут быть обложены налогом, что повлекло бурную реакцию общественности.

Несмотря на то, что позже министерство через свои аккаунты в социальных сетях Facebook и Twitter заверило граждан в том, что введения инициатив по обложению депозитов физических лиц налогом в ближайшем будущем не предвидится, эксперты сходятся во мнении, что таких нововведений нельзя исключать в среднесрочной перспективе.

Идея обложения налогом депозитов физических лиц не является оригинальной, и изучение моделей соответствующего налога в различных странах может быть использовано при его введении в РФ.

Великобритания
Многие подданные Соединенного Королевства, имеющие депозиты в банках, освобождены от обязанности уплачивать на суммы соответствующего дохода налог. Они могут использовать:

•    личную скидку с подоходного налога (personal allowance) – для большинства подданных Великобритании первые GBP 11,500 дохода не облагаются налогом вне зависимости от источника дохода;
•    стартовую скидку для сбережений (starting rate for savings) – если «прочий» доход налогоплательщика составляет менее GBP 16,500, налогоплательщик может получить дополнительную льготу в виде не обложения налогом дохода от депозитов в размере до GBP 5,000. При этом каждый фунт «прочего» дохода сокращает эту скидку на один фунт;
•    персональную скидку для сбережений (personal savings allowance) – в зависимости от величины дохода налогоплательщика, он может освободить от налога вплоть до GBP 1,000 дохода от депозитов.

Сама сумма депозитов налогом не облагается.

Кипр
На Кипре введение налога на депозиты активно обсуждалось в 2013 г., т.к. введение такого налога в размере 6,75% для вкладов суммой от 20 до 100 тыс. евро и 9,9% для вкладов более 100 тыс. евро являлось обязательным условием предоставления Кипру финансовой помощи в размере 10 млрд евро от Еврогруппы. Тем не менее, при рассмотрении соответствующего законопроекта в Парламенте ни один парламентарий не проголосовал в его пользу, и в итоге налог введен не был. Основной причиной стала шоковая реакция на потенциальный налог населения3, в экстренном порядке выводящего денежные средства со своих депозитов.

Испания
Введение налога на депозиты в Испании обсуждалось в 2014 г., вскоре после аналогичной дискуссии на Кипре. Испанское правительство обещало налоговую ставку, незначительно отличающуюся от 0%, и направленность налога на регионы Испании, в которых имеются существенные проблемы со сбором налогов.

Что касается дохода от вкладов, первые 6 тыс. евро облагаются налогом по ставке 19%, если доход от вкладов составляет от 9 до 50 тыс. евро, ставка налога составит 21%, более 50 тыс. евро – 23%.

Вариантов обложения налогом депозитов и доходов от депозитов множество, и в случае введения соответствующего налога в России необходимо основательное изучение лучших мировых практик, а также факторов, влияющих на выбор той или иной модели налогообложения в определенной стране.

Наталья Пушкарева – научный сотрудник лаборатории развития налоговой системы