On Friday 3 February, Russia’s Ministry of Finance amplified its plans on purchasing foreign currency in the domestic forex market, specifying the terms and the maximum amount to be purchased. An official statement was made, in which the regulator plans to allocate another Rb 113.1bn of oil and gas federal budget revenues for the purpose.

An amount equivalent to Rb 6.3bn will be purchased every working day in the period between 7 February and 6 March. On the one hand, this is a small amount, compared with Russia’s forex market average daily turnover, which ran at $40.6bn in 2016, according to the Bank for International Settlements (BIS). On the other hand, forex market interventions may at some periods distort the market equilibrium, having an adverse effect on the Russian rouble. Given the fact that if the Ministry of Finance is going to purchase foreign exchange on a monthly basis (the Ministry stated previously that foreign currency should be purchased when crude oil stays above $40 per barrel), currency interventions would reach about $20bn before the end of the year, which is comparable with Russia’s current account balance.

It is in our view unlikely that such interventions will have a significant effect on the dynamics of the market-driven rouble exchange rate. Exchange rate trends in the global forex market are being driven by various factors, including a high degree of uncertainty about Donald Trump’s economic policy, who says that a strengthening U.S. dollar has an adverse effect on the U.S. economy, as well as the prospects of further hikes in the Fed's federal funds rate.

The effect of ambiguous information signals concerning the “need to devaluate the rouble in order to balance the federal budget” seems to be more significant compared to what the Ministry of Finance is doing in practice. From this perspective, we should emphasize once again that the Ministry of Finance is not seeking to establish any specific level of exchange rate through purchasing foreign currency. Regarding the Bank of Russia that has the exclusive right to run the exchange rate policy in this country, this would mean nothing short of the bank switching to an entirely new monetary policy and abandoning its inflation targeting policy, which is not in line with regulator’s actions and statements. For instance, the Bank of Russia gave an assurance on 25 January that the bank has no plans to change its current monetary policy, including the target to be reached by the end of 2017 and restart of forex market interventions in order to reach a particular level of the nominal exchange rate. Furthermore, according to the Bank of Russia, the use of budget rules on a regular basis will facilitate the monetary policy, ensuring stable and predictable terms for economic development, as well as less reliance on commodities. The only reason that may force the Bank of Russia to restart its forex market interventions is to ensure financial sustainability or to accumulate foreign exchange reserves, which is in line not only with the inflation targeting principles but also with the global practice.

Hence, it is in our view highly unlikely that foreign currency purchases by the Bank of Russia on behalf of the Ministry of Finance will have a significant effect on the dynamics of the rouble exchange rate. However, the decision made could have been better clarified for economic agents.

Anna Kiyutsevskaya – researcher, Monetary Policy Department

В пятницу, 3 февраля, Минфин России конкретизировал свои планы по приобретению иностранной валюты на внутреннем валютном рынке, обозначив условия и предельные объемы операций. В соответствии с официальным заявлением, на эти цели регулятор планирует направить 113,1 млрд руб. дополнительных нефтегазовых доходов бюджета.

Операции будут проводиться каждый рабочий день в период с 7 февраля по 6 марта в объеме, эквивалентном 6,3 млрд руб. С одной стороны, это является небольшой величиной относительно среднедневного оборота российского валютного рынка – по данным Банка международных расчетов, в 2016 г. он составил 40,6 млрд долл. С другой стороны, в отдельные периоды интервенции могут сместить рыночное равновесие не в пользу российской валюты. Поскольку, если Минфин будет покупать валюту ежемесячно (ранее финансовое ведомство заявляло о необходимости покупки валюты при цене на нефть выше 40 долл./ барр.), то до конца года объем интервенций достигнет порядка 20 млрд долл., что сопоставимо с сальдо текущего счета платежного баланса РФ.

На наш взгляд, операции Минфина России вряд ли окажут существенное влияние на динамику обменного курса российского рубля, формируемого под влиянием рыночных факторов. К числу факторов, определяющих в настоящее время курсовые тренды на мировом валютном рынке, следует отнести высокую степень неопределенности относительно экономической политики Д. Трампа, заявившего о негативных последствиях укрепления доллара США для американской экономики, а также перспективы дальнейшего повышения ФРС США процентной ставки по федеральным фондам.

Гораздо более существенным по сравнению с фактическими действиями Минфина России представляется влияние двусмысленных информационных сигналов, связанных с «необходимостью девальвации рубля для достижения сбалансированности бюджета». В связи с этим еще раз подчеркнем, что при проведении операций по приобретению иностранной валюты Минфин России не преследует цели по достижению какого бы то ни было уровня обменного курса. Со стороны же Банка России, обладающего монопольным правом по реализации курсовой политики, это означало было не что иное, как изменение всей стратегии денежно-кредитной политики и отказ от политики инфляционного таргетирования, что не согласуется с действиями и риторикой регулятора. Так, только 25 января, Банк России заверил, что отсутствуют планы по изменению реализуемой денежно-кредитной политики, в т.ч. в части достижения целевого ориентира к концу 2017 г. и возобновления валютных интервенций для достижения определенного уровня номинального обменного курса. Более того, по мнению Банка России, применение бюджетных правил на постоянной основе облегчит реализацию денежно-кредитной политики, обеспечив устойчивые и предсказуемые внутренние условия развития экономики, а также и снижение ее сырьевой зависимости. Возобновлены валютные интервенции Банком России могут быть только в целях поддержания финансовой стабильности или накопления валютных резервов, что не противоречит не только принципам инфляционного таргетирования, но и мировой практике.

Таким образом, на наш взгляд, приобретение иностранной валюты Банком России от лица Минфина России, скорее всего, не окажет значительного влияния на динамику обменного курса рубля. В то же время разъяснение принятого решения для экономических агентов могло бы быть более четким.

Анна Киюцевская – научный сотрудник лаборатории денежно-кредитной политики